IELTS task 2: Cause and Solution to extinction of wild animals

extinct or endangered species

Topic: More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The number of species becoming extinct or endangered is increasing rapidly due to over-hunting by human. To tackle this problem, governments should enforce laws on protecting wild-life.

Excessive hunting is endangering many wild animals. People use wild animal as material to produce luxurious products which are highly profitable. The huge amount of money earned from selling these products urged poachers to kill a massive number of wild animals without caring about environmental effects. The result is that many wild species disappeared forever and many others are at risk of vanishing. For example, a huge number of Indochinese Tigers have been killed for their skin to make clothes and their bone to be used as medicine. After being hunted for many years, this species have been pushed the edge of extinction in Indochina area.

To conserve natural animals, authorities should establish and strictly enforce laws and regulations on conserving wild-life. This can be done by issuing bans on hunting, fishing and trading of wild animals; forming conservation area and establishing ranger forces. Any violation of these laws must be seriously punished to create a deterring effect in the society. These solutions will enable wild animals to live and breed in their natural habitat and increase in number again. In Vietnam, killing and trading tigers is illegal. Anyone who goes against this rule can be sentenced many years in prison. The strict enforcement of the law created a safe environment for the remaining tigers to live and reduce the risk of extinction.

In conclusion, wild animals are being put in dangerous situations because human are killing them to satisfy their greed. It is only when governments issued strict regulations on protecting wild species can the number of wild creatures stop decreasing.