IELTS: Cause and solution to the over-all happiness of the youth

Please fee free to advise. Thank you :)

In some countries, young people are not only richer but also safer and healthier than ever before. However, they are less happy. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

The key to happiness

The younger generation is considered living in a more prosperous, safer and healthier society than their forefathers in several countries. Nevertheless, they do not seem to be more satisfied with their lives.

First, the numbers of people with mental illness have increased over the past decades due to the ever-changing nature of technology. Technology brought convenience but also exploding information to our lives. The youth are expected to keep up the pace and double what they can do in a 24-hour day, which can be very overwhelming. Second, even though social media platforms have their benefits, using them too regularly can make you feel unhappy and alienated. Many teens spend too much time trying to take the perfect photo of spots they visited, meanwhile not really enjoying themselves by witnessing it with their own eyes.

In my opinion, the key to happiness is to build relationships with others. Put away the phones at dinner tables and morning coffee with your family and friends. Happiness is a collective phenomenon and is contagious. Also, do what you are passionate about, ask yourself what the one thing in life is you have to achieve that makes everything else unnecessary then go for it. When you do what you're most passionate about, you are developing your potential and contributing to overall well-being, which is self-actualization in Maslow's hierarchy of needs.

In conclusion, although human behavior has changed dramatically over the years, the principles of being content has yet changed. The pursuit of happiness is in our own hands. We are the architect of our own life.