What are the causes and effects of global warming? Suggest some possible solutions to this problem.

worrying threat to the Earth

Global warming has become a worldwide controversial phenomenon since 1950. It is defined as the heating up of the Earth's atmosphere due to the rise in temperature, which endangers the existence of living beings (plants, animals and humans). This essay will discuss its causes, impacts and suggest remedies to reduce the effects of global warming to an extent.

The alarming problem is caused by many factors. One of which is the excessive emissions of carbon dioxide result virtually from human activities, for example, the greenhouse effects. Greenhouse gases, include carbon dioxide, trap the heat from the sun and prevent its escape from the surface thus increasing the temperature of the Earth. Moreover, the amount of carbon dioxide soars due to the rising demands for factories, means of transportation to support urbanization. Deforestation is also a predominant reason for global warming as there are no longer enough trees to absorb those detrimental gases. These major factors contribute to the daily rise of the Earth's temperature.

Global warming endangers the life of living creatures since reports of its damage are announced regularly and greatly in amount. The poles are melting, sea level is rising and it is predicted that if the temperature keeps soaring, many countries will soon go underwater, such as Singapore or Egypt. The disaster leads to many other consequences such as desertification, extreme weather conditions, loss of animal habitats and supposedly the extinction of all kinds of species includes mankind.

Its severe impacts on our planet raise the necessity of effective solutions. Firstly, governments need to reduce our dependence on fossil fuels by promoting the use of renewable energy, limit the amount of fuel-based means of transportation in the locality and advocate recycling, reforestation. Also, individuals can play a part by making lifestyle changes: switch off electrical devices when not in use, plant trees in gardens and adopt the habit of recycling, walking to work. These remedies should be conducted constantly in order to chill our heating planet.

Global warming is probably the most worrying threat to the Earth at the time being. Therefore, mankind should put a high priority on saving our planet as it is us ourselves harm the planet. To curb global warming, every single individual must wake up, act and bring back what once was ours.