Causes and solution of problems faced by school because of student behavior.

IELTS Topic: In many countries schools have severe problems with student behavior. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In a number of countries a significant issue faced by school is student behavior. In this essay I will look at few major causes of it and propose a solution for them.

Firstly, this is confirmed by statistics that a majority of children display rowdy attitude at school because either their parents are going through a divorce or they are single parent child. Single parents find it very difficult to work and take care of a child at the same time. Sometimes they are unable to divide the time equally; in which case, the child suffers. These children tend to believe that their world is breaking apart. This result in them becoming more and more attention needy.

Secondly, the punishment with which a misbehaving child is charged with is not always harsh enough. They take writing "I will not do this again" 1000 times as a joke. Because of this there seems to be no change whatsoever in their attitude. In fact such a child will recommit his mistakes as long as he believes he can live through such light punishments.

Keeping these causes in mind one can come up with many solutions. Parents (or single parent) should make sure that they provide enough attention to their child so that he does not feel attention deficient at school.

Regarding the second cause the school ought to come up with new punishments which are harsh enough to make child reconsider his actions before misbehaving.

To summarize, a parent should look after his child's attention needs in order to minimize his rowdy behavior at school. Also a change in schools policy can inhibit a child from misbehaving.