IELTS Writing Task 2: Causes and Solutions of International Tourism

Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes.

Masses criticize international travelers due to dangerous they may affect, namely spoiling environment and custom of local countries. This issue can be overcome by adopting viable measures involving both government and tourist agencies.

Many indigenous people assume that foreign travelers often deteriorate the environmental health. This is because visitors may contribute pollution towards to air, soil, and water. For instance, the demand for transports producing fume exhaust contaminating the air of tourist destination will increase. Besides, they always dirty surroundings by irresponsibly throwing their rubbish not directly into a trash. Therefore, local authorities should encourage holidaymakers to use public vehicles, such as a bus. Besides, they should campaign about how to maintain sanitary by giving a guidance of putting a warning in every holiday site. Moreover, fining litterbugs can be an effective method.

Furthermore, many natives consider foreigners' unconscious behavior as disrespectful due to cultural differences. To illustrate, a traveler may touch a sacred statue, step a holy tomb, or make scratches of an ancient treasure. In addition, when enjoying their trip in a developing Southeast Asian country, western vacationers often only wear underwear inviting a lot of unwanted stares as it is impolite according to the local people. Hence, tourist agencies should inform holidaymakers regarding the regulation and custom of their hosts, such as how to behave and dress appropriately.

To sum up, there are several reasons causing making a trip to other countries may cause hazards. However, providing that tourists are well-informed about how to avoid the dangerous, this issue can be addressed.