(CBEST)- A sharp increases in the minimum wage or no

more money for low income earners?

A sharp increase in the minimum wage or keep the the minimum wage

Many people agree about increasing minimum wage for them to support their family and keep up with the cost of living, while many people disagrees about increasing minimum wage. They want to keep a right amount of minimum wage instead of a sharp increases in the minimum wage. I strongly disagree with the sharp increase in the minimum wage because the increases of the minimum wage will make the consumer goods to be higher, companies will reduced the working hours, and increase the unemployment rate.

One of the disadvantages is increase in the consumer goods. The fast-food restaurants will increase the prices because they have to raise the wage of their employees. For example, a donut used to cost $0.50 each, but after the sharp increase of the minimum wage a donut will cost about $2.00. In other words, a donut will costs more after the sharp increase. The increase of the minimum wage will make the consumer goods to be higher.

Another disadvantage is employees will work less hours than before. The companies will cut back the hours on employees in order for them to have enough salary to pay the employees. A lot of employees is struggling to pay bills and afford to have a nice meal on their table because they don't have enough salary to pay for their necessary after been working less hours.

Additionally, the unemployment rate will get higher each day. Some companies couldn't afford to pay for their employees because the minimum wage is too high. Therefore, they have to fire the employees that have no skills or experience. The unskilled employees will get fired by the companies which make the unemployment rate to increase.

After all, I believe that the sharp increase of minimum wage will not be a good reason to support a family and keep up with the cost of living because it will have many problems after the sharp increase of the minimum wage.