CBEST Writing Test : Explain if you have taken any risk in your life.

Hi, Please help me understand my weaknesses, in writing. Thanks in advance.

Achieving the goal through risk

In everyone's life, there comes a situation where we need to take some serious, difficult decisions, the consequences of which can be, entirely, in your favor or can be against you. Moreover, the situation of taking a risk is a time for a strict test and to achieve the success, you ought to be firm in your decision, in all odds. Obviously, there was one such situation in my life where I also took a firm decision for my career.

First of all, I belonged to a small, peaceful town in India. As a result, since my birth till my post graduation, I did not face a life outside the circle of comfort in which my parents raised me. Since my father was a government employee, everything was established in advance. In addition to that, schools, shopping place, clubs etc all were, always, the same and almost everyone owning the shops was familiar with my family.

Furthermore, after my post graduation, I did a degree course in the field of education and joined my first job as a lecturer in a college. Everything seemed just fine with my family including myself until I arouse some interest in the field of Information Technology. The Information Technology was on its peak during that time and teaching in an enthralling IT college spark off some instantaneous inquisitiveness. Consequently, I did some short-term certification in the field of Quality Assurance but finding an IT job in the local area was next to impossible as there was no IT firm in or around my city. For the obvious reason, I wanted to try my luck in a metro city like Delhi and my family was entirely against my opinion. Against all odds, I was determined to try my luck in Delhi.

After a detailed discussion, my parents, finally, agreed with my decision and I came to Delhi. However, Getting a job in Delhi wasn't as easy, as I imagined. Besides, in a city like Delhi survival, without your own vehicle, was backbreaking. Moreover, I encountered many rejections in the beginning, which was extremely upsetting. Every time when I used to call my parent, I always received the same advice on coming back, as they did not want me to face the harshness of the Big City. Besides all this, I did not lose my hope and after struggling for about a month and a half, I finally, found a job in an IT firm, as Associate Quality Assurance. This brought a stream of happiness in my family. I was extremely happy and felt so proud that I gave a pat on my back.

My staying firm on my decision taught a lesson for my life that when you are taking a risk, you need to be focused, work hard, and be dedicated to your aim, and there is no power in the world that can stop you from fulfilling your dreams.