CCTV, security cameras, etc. Public surveillance criticism- the advantages outweigh the disadvantage

Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advanced technology's products have played pivotal role in 21st century life, including in the public surveillance which aimed to monitor societies' activities. Even this issue is no longer the top secret of government and intelligence agency as people realize the vast development of informational technology, many of them are still unaware that they are under strict supervision. By a great access to keep the peacefulness and security within the country, I believe that the advantages of this recent utilize of technology outweigh the fact that the privacy is a rare thing to maintain.

Obviously, an official surveillance conducted by government restricts the freedom of citizen resulting on lack of privacy. All citizen's behaves in public area are recorded by security cameras and, desperately, as well as their communication through mobile phone even its private conversation and messaging. Another thing is that so easy to locate people by cell phone tracking. An American cyber-crime specialist at TED Talks video revealed that most of technology companies have assisted government by open-encrypted people activities and communication with a system installed in almost all mobile phones. He added that this even more dangerous than hijacking since people have no longer their privacy even it is a fundamental right of human. Nevertheless, this has been a controversial issue whether or not important to keep our privacy and against the state but I personally believe that this development is considerably beneficial for human life.

It has been proved that the using of CCTV and cell phone tracking and recording brings a pleasure as it establish the peacefulness of life nowadays. The crime rate in majority of countries could be decreased thanks to security cameras which help police to arrest the offenders and maintain the security by avoiding crime through surveillance toward all the public facilities and areas. Another advantage is the easiness to track crime agents which are harder in the past. By cell phone tracking, it is easy to collect evidence and detain people who commit crime. In Indonesia, a huge number of corruptors and those who perpetrate tax avoidance are jailed based on the evidence and their activity which supervised by police officer. This method is reliable and proves that this cutting-edge device would bring peace and hold the jurisdiction of country.

All in all, I believe that the merits of public surveillance by sophisticated technological device are greater than the demerit.