IELTS TASK 2, Are celerities setting bad role models for the young because of their glamour?

Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

a bad example for youngsters?

Given the fact that today's movie stars, notable musicians and singers are more well-known for their lavish lifestyles and material possessions, some people are of the opinion that this is adversely affecting the young's perception of the world around them by setting unacceptable role models.

Personally, I agree with this viewpoint for several reasons. Firstly, I think because young people lack knowledge and experience, they are highly vulnerable to be influenced by these so-called role models. The youth tend to imitate their lifestyles regardless of their own financial situations or personal styles. The young tend to have a desire to possess what these famous stars have. As a result, they put a lot of pressure not only on themselves but also on their parents as they aspire to the lifestyles of their favourite stars. In extreme cases, some even resort to committing crimes like theft to achieve what they want overnight, where it would not otherwise be attainable.

Furthermore, this unrealistic expectation among the youth forces them to pressure their peers to think and feel the same way and try to look up to celebrities as well. This results in some youth who may personally oppose the vain lifestyles to also conform and give in. These youth often end up having no other option but to follow the trend to avoid ridicule or being ostracized by their friends. According to a study that was conducted in Japan on behavioral patterns of more than 2000 teenagers, they found that the number of teens who followed celebrities' way of life, solely because of peer pressure was alarming. The study looked at the effects of glamorous lifestyles of celebrities, and found that 26% of teenage boys and girls imitate celebrities only to satisfy their friend's requests.

In conclusion, I believe that celebrities' lifestyles is of great importance to the youth and it impacts their culture a lot. If the youth don't follow the popular trend, they run the risk of being excluded from their peers which can be a big problem for them.