Cell Phones In Classrooms? This is not good idea.

the drawbacks of cellphone usage outweighs the advantages

Using cellphones in the class can lead to three negative impacts. The primary concern about this is cellphone usage, as a learning tool, could be generally misused by students. While a text or message pops up through the lesson, most students can't resist the urge to check their phones immediately. Meanwhile, distractions arise when students are juggling multitasking. In fact, a study has shown that engaging in multitasking during courses adversely affected the absorption of new things (Chen & Yan, 2016). Without a solid comprehension of learning, the second threat for cellphone usage in the class has serious consequences when it comes to poor academic performance. According to a recent study in Educational Psychology, students with cellphones in the class scored 5% lower on exams than those who weren't (Glass et al., 2019). Nevertheless, the effect of cellphone misusing behaviors is more than personal issues. Teachers often battle with students' devices while delivering lectures. If one's cellphone keeps ringing in the class, the teacher must force the student to turn off the device, which interrupts the whole class as well as tends to break the classroom discipline. To sum up, using cellphones in the class may sometimes bring the convenience, but once you scrutinize the drawbacks of cellphone usage, there is no doubt that it outweighs the advantages.