[IELTS] cellphone and Internet are harmful to people health, why we use? how to do?

It is obvious that excessive use of modern technology products, such as mobile phones and Information highway is detrimental to the people both physically and psychologically. But there are still a multitude of users of these equipments. In this essay, I will analyze the reasons, and give my suggestions as well.

Apparently, modern technology in this day and age enables us to lead a more comfortable and more efficient life. With the widespread use of mobile phones, for instance, people can communicate with each other at lower expense in terms of time and money, both for business demands and for recreational pursuits. It also economizes us a lot when we speak to friends or family members who are living far from us.

In addition to convenience, we also benefit a lot from the appearance of Internet in terms of acquiring knowledge and information. From the aspect of educators, Internet affords children with infinite knowledge to learn which certainly cover all existent subjects and disciplines. It is not uncommon to see that youngsters have already adapted to search for materials through Google and Yahoo online. Furthermore, the videos and lectures, such as the open course of MIT, can be accessed via Internet connection for free. Only with these high-tech advances could the students all over the world share the precious educational resources. Based on these merits, it is really unreasonable for people to give up the Internet as we cannot find the replacement.

In spite of so many advantages, I admit the harmfulness to human health. Therefore, we have a lot of to do to alleviate the negative effect. First, people should avoid using cell phones abusively. Second, spending some time on outdoor activities with friends is good option to keep fit. Last, it is the parents' obligation to monitor and regulate their children's behavior, protecting them from being addicted to computer games or pornographic contents from internet. [317]