'censorhip'; Creative artists should have freedom to express their views

Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is well known that during the last decades artists have been treated more like a voice of the population, due to their ability to express ideas and opinions using a lot of expression trying not to insult to system directly, by using subliminal messages, being indispensible to human's soul and life. This fact was possible until censorship was settled and their freedom was restricted.

To my mind being an artist means a huge amount of creativity, freedom and last but not least motivation. It can be widely acknowledged that 30 years ago, in the Eastern Europe, when the communists where leading the countries, artists used to develop their creations, even if we are talking about poems, movies or songs, by making a directly link to the political views. In this case censorhip was more like an obstacle in the front the artists and if they really wanted to express their personal views and ideas they had to risk their freedom.

On balance, things had an impressive turning nowadays. The governments haved disabled most of these restrictions giving artists the possibility of expressing their ideas without complaining about the strictness of censorhip. However, sometimes they lose their control and do unsuitable things such as wearing sexy clothes, singing worthless songs, drawing pornographies, etc. It conflicts with their culture and moral standards. Therefore, government should have some restrictions to limit these cases, as well as to preserve traditional value and nation image.

While it is important to acknowledge the value of the both sides I personally tend to believe that things had changed a lot on this side, and the government restrictions are not as severe as it use to be in the past.