Central authorities or teacher choose education program

who is responsible for choosing education program for children

While some people argue that central authorities should decide the subjects that children are taught at schools, others think that teachers should be responsible to choose the program. This essay will discuss both points of view and give my personal opinion.

On the one hand, central authorities should decide school subjects because of the following reasons. First of all, the government takes responsibility for guaranteeing the quality of the national education system. They can compare the programs of various schools and know deeply the strength and weaknesses each of education program. Therefore, they can decide on the standard of education levels and opt the effective programs.

Secondly, the government has broad knowledge and experience in many different fields. Then they can decide the suitable curriculum to help students improve their knowledge and skills. In addition, the government has a high awareness of society's requirements, so that they can opt for the subjects of each education level to help students have great abilities in their future careers.

On the other hand, teachers should be responsible to decide the curriculum. First of all, teachers have numerous experience in teaching students. They understand deeply what subjects are helpful for students. Teachers can sensibly arrange the order of the lessons in a subject and give useful advice to put what lessons suitably each level. They also can upgrade fast new methods or new information in teaching so that they know how to help students learn better. As a result, they tend to determine education materials based on student's favorite. Furthermore, if students are allowed to choose their favorite subjects, they will have much motivation to study. They will have more chance to enhance their strengths.

In conclusion, both central authorities and teachers play an important role in opting for national education programs. In my opinion, central authorities should hold varied seminars between the government and teachers to select the best contributing opinions. Then, the government gives the sample program and opens the feedback from teachers before they decide official program. In addition, during using an educational system, they have to manage closely and upgrade it.