Challenging life in a country where we need to communicate via foreign language

IELTS cambridge13 test1 writing task2

Hi, everyone. This is my first time posing an essay on this forum. I hope to receive some advice.

Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Answer:

Some people believe that choosing a life in a country where we need to communicate via foreign tongue cause issue Not only in social aspect but also in practical part in the life. In my opinion, I totally agree with the viewpoint.

On the one hand, for people who doesn't possess the foreign language, they may encounter some social issue when moving to a new country. One problem is the culture difference between foreign country and the country they grew up. Learning a language not only help people to communicate with foreigners but also deepen their knowledge about the culture. Therefore, for those who don't skilled in the second language will probably need more time to adapt themselves into a whole new environment. Furthermore, people may feel like outsiders because of language barrier. Therefore, they would rather stay in the circle of people from the same country. As a result, they couldn't really fit into the foreign country.

On the other hand, it seems that this also causes several practical problems in their lifes. Firstly, for the adults without foreign language proficiency, they may not reach the acquirement for a better employment in the country, thus, they would end up getting a job with lower salary. Secondly, children will face difficulties in school, therefore, they need to work harder than other students in the same age. Moreover, it will be difficult for them to interacte with others, so they probably have problem on making new friends. Finally, the language barrier will also influence their daily life. For example, they will have trouble to make an order in the restaurant because they can't even read the menu.

In conclusion, it's better for people to master in the foreign language before they move to the foreign nation, otherwise, they will spend lots of time and energy on dealing with these troubles.