'change the world?' - What would you tell your founding fathers prompt?

It was 4 A.M. on a Wednesday morning. I stare out into the pre-dawn darkness and I can see the statue of Mother Liberty etched upon the horizon, with a flaming torch and a picturesque crown. Her magnificent presence makes me feel honored to be born into the Land of the Free.

My mind drifts back to the year of 1787, where my founding fathers debated the future of America. They knew that a strong nation must have a strong foundation. In contrast, a weak foundation will bring about the downfall of a nation.

I thank my founding fathers for making it possible for us all to live together as one family, united by a strong foundation of human rights, equality, and freedom.

I gazed out into the slowly emanating horizon, and I think about humanity in our present day lives. There are so many human rights and freedom issues around the whole globe. Mankind has advanced itself over the last decade, but the liberty of mankind has not yet followed its path.

I still remember how shocked I was when I heard the horrifying story of a blind human rights dissident of how he made a daring escape from house arrest and decided to seek refuge in a U.S. embassy in Beijing. Chen knew that the U.S. fought for human rights around the globe.

I thank my founding fathers for providing a strong foundation of human rights.

I watch in awe as the sun slowly rises over the mountain peaks, casting a faint glow upon Mother Nature. A faint voice whispers in the distance, "I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: "We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal." Martin Luther King dedicated his life to fighting for African American rights, yet he could not have done so without the foundation that our founding fathers had laid about equality in the Constitution. How lucky we are to be granted equality in America. So many lives are lost each day just by raising a voice to be heard.

It is time now. Slowly, bit by bit, the sky turned a hue of purple, orange and finally blue. The sun had risen over America, and somehow lightened up our world.

And now, I say only this to my founding fathers:

What would you do to change the world?!