IELTS2 - Changes in family structures and family roles; fewer household members and working parents

The family unit, and how it has changed

In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent years have shown changes in structures and roles in families. This essay will discuss what the specific differences are nowadays, and it will prove that those changes are mostly positive.

The two main changes regarding family structures and also family roles are less members in the household as well as working parents. These days, many couples decide to have only one child at maximum rather than two or even more to be able enjoy their life and have more freedom whereas having more children or having children at an early stage of a relationship would force both parents to care for an infant as opposed to going out to a club every night. In addition, both parents decide to get a job the days, usually a full-time job whereas a couple of years ago, the mother had to stay at home and care for the child only; meanwhile, the father was the breadwinner of the family.

These changes are mostly positive. For instance, having only one child and allowing the female partner to work full-time means that the couple has more money available. However, working parents may have to neglect their child to be able to work and earn more money together. This development in the family roles can have a negative effect on the children. For example, parents are not able to control with whom their child spends time while they are at work. It can change its behaviour and even join some gangs.

In conclusion, changes such as fewer household members and working parents may give parents the opportunity to earn more money and keep it for themselves; however, it can also distract from caring for their child which can therefore lead to it becoming bad behaved. (289 words)