IELTS; Changing jobs and living places - Good or Bad?

The world is changing rapidly. An increasing number of people change their jobs and the places they live frequently. Is this a negative or a positive development?

As the rapid changing of the modern world, more and more people make their decisions to alter jobs and even their residence currently. This phenomenon, however, has shown more demerits than its merits, as far as I am concerned.

It is undeniable that the popularity of changing jobs and living places has contributed to the whole society greatly in various aspects. For one thing, companies are likely to benefit from the different ideas, advanced techniques and innovative management methods brought by the new employees. For another, moving to another place to live can also encourage the local residents to be more tolerant and promote the cultural communication in social or global dimension.

However, there are apparently wide ranges of negative impacts in terms of frequent changing, which cannot be ignored. In the first place, a great number of corporations loathe losing, hiring and training employees frequently. One of the manifest reasons is that the ripple effect of job-hopping can be quite costly and time-consuming. What is more, losing an employee in relatively high and crucial position may even cause vicious competitions amongst companies in the industry. In the second place, many people moving in and out of an area too often is likely to give rise to a lack of sense of community. Consequently, the local residents may lose the feeling of safety living in this area, which can be regarded as one of the causations of social instability.

To sum up, changing jobs and residences frequently is more likely a negative development in current society than a positive one. Therefore, people should be aware that changing is not an excuse of escaping the reality. It is reasonable only when it can bring a better job or life.