'characteristics of societies while studying in big cities' - GRE issue essay

My mind totally went blank when I first read the essay. But, I still managed to squeeze some ideas out. Help me please.

"To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Ans:

Most people consider a major city as the reflection of a society. These people think that the characteristics of societies are intrinsic to major cities. However, a close examination reveals that blindly studying the major cities will not help us understand the beauty of societies when small cities which are often devalued have an impact on societies too.

First and foremost, small cities are usually considered to be the suburbs. The people who live in the suburbs are often friendlier, more approachable. They lead a peaceful and less stressful live. On the contrary, we might not be able to see these attributes in those people living in major cities. If we went to Manhattan to study the characteristics of an American society, we would likely see arrogant, domineering and snotty Americans. The results obtained in major cities unlikely to accord with the results obtained in the suburbs.

In contrast to the statement, big cities are very attractive to tourists. They are millions of foreigners visiting Manhattan, New York every year. These visitors, come from different parts of the world, are visiting for different kinds of purposes. They could be on vacation; they could be on business. Studying Manhattan might give the characteristics of different societies in the world, instead of getting the characteristics of a Manhattan society.

The previous examples show that a small city would reflect its society accurately. With less outsiders visiting and more local people living, a small city inevitably reveals all the good and bad attributes of its society. The people living in small city are more innocent and less sceptical. These people will show the world their "true faces" without hiding.

While it may now be apparent that studying major cities would not provide a clear review on the characteristics of these societies, it should also be evident that studying major cities would impair our perspectives on the societies. In conclusion, small cities which have so many desirable attributes do affect the societies.