Who should be in charge of activities related to scientific research?

Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

scientific research - by government or by private companies?

It is commonly believed that the governments should be in charge of activities related to scientific research in lieu of private firms. I completely agree with this view.

On the one hand, the aforementioned solution could be effective due to the fact that there are a multitude of dangers created from scientific work, which is operated by private business. The principal reason here is that the companies virtually gravitate towards concerning their productivities and profits and totally ignore the harmful effects of these researches. For example, the use of animals in scientific and medical research has been a subject of heated debate for many years. In spite of its unavoidable benefits, some companies would carry out their research on animals illegally, leading to the serious degradation of ecosystems. Therefore, it seems sensible that private firms should not be empowered to manage the scientific research.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that the governments could adopt essential policies to operate the research effectively. One of the feasible methods is that universities specialized on science would be authorized to conduct high quality research. Accordingly, their professors and students with expertise in specific field could apparently partake in the research's progress and share their knowledge. Moreover, the authorities should allocate funding on the prior area of research. For example, the past decade has witnessed the great advantage of renewable energy, such as the invention of motorcycle using solar power, which would actually change the world, meaning that it could help reduce the gas emissions and air pollution.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the standpoint that the government should bear the responsibility for scientific research.