Charge for admission in museum? Evaluate this policy - IELTS

Hi,

I am going to have a test on 14/4 so I really need your help. Thanks in advance!

IELTS Writing Task 2: "Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?"

Here is my essay for the above topic:

Entrance tickets into museums

Today, there is a difference in regulation of several museums. To be more specific, some museums ask visitors to pay for entrance fee while others do not. In my opinion, although this practice has mixed blessing, I firmly believe that the benefits would prevail over the drawbacks.

On the one hand, charging for admission seems to exert negative effect since this policy somehow deters some citizens from entering the museums. More specifically, those groups of residents such as the poor, students are likely to purchase for their basic needs, for instance, foods and drinks, rather than spending on museums' entrance tickets. As a result, the number of public visiting the museums may decline gradually after the implementation of the policy.

One the other hand, I strongly support the idea that admission fee's advantages will outweigh its disadvantages. The reason for believing this is that this regulation is of incredible help in raising financial funds which can be allocated for a wide range of operational purposes, for example, purchasing for well-known artworks or paintings which are extremely expensive, maintaining good condition of current exhibition. It is also possible to say that this amount of money is supposed to be a source for salary payment, which encourages employees to work more efficiently. In fact, basic salary scales of museums' workers do not meet their basic needs on a daily basis, so if they were paid better as they, they would dedicate more to their works. All things considered, the museums can run smoothly, be well upgraded and then attract a more impressive number of visitors at the present and in the years to come.

In conclusion, although charging for entrance fee still has some downsides, I completely believe that this regulation will be more beneficial.