Charging people for admission to the museums; original writing, 40 minutes

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Mostly, museum's visitors have to pay admission before they can enjoy the display. However, I strongly believe that although this policy has a certain benefit for the museums, it cannot offset the disadvantages both for visitors and the museums.

It is undeniable that every museum needs money to maintain the artifacts and pay the worker. For this reason, most of them mandate that the visitors must pay a certain amount of money when they want to enjoy the interior. This way undoubtedly increase the museum's revenue so that they can provide better service for the visitors such as cleaner toilets, wider open spaces and better view of the display. However, this advantage is minuscule compared to the drawbacks it brings.

Not every people have a huge interest in antiques. Because of that, many people will loss their interest to visit museums if they have to pay just to enter it. This case will decline museum's popularity because only few of people visit the museum. Not only that, the function of museum which originally intended for educational purpose will be missed. By charging admission, museum is seen as a business rather than educational tool. All in all, admission fee brings several negative effects.

A free museum obviously cannot earn money by itself. Therefore, it needs support from others to maintain its function as educational tool. For example, the government should fund more to make the museum an interesting place to be visited. Donation from visitors also very useful for the existence of this place. Overall, there are some ways besides admission fee for museum to earn money.

To sum up, it is evident that charging admission has more disadvantages rather than its benefits. It is imperative that societies and the government should pay more attention to museum's revenue so that it will stand still although no admission is charged from the visitors.