Ielts: Charleen's talent and parent's perspectives

Q) It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports and music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A)

There are several controversial opinions about children's ability and training. Some parents force children to learn one particular thing, while others just support children's choice. To some extent, I believe latter opinion. In this essay, both sides of perspectives and positive and negative influences on children will be discussed.

First of all, a child who has an incredible talent in certain field such as music and art, they are very enthusiastic to learn skills without parent's induction. The time spent for training is not a matte because these children are just enjoying what they are doing. Unless parents restrict them, these children can vastly enhance their potential abilities.

On the other hand, there are a number of children who achieve their objectives without talents. These children are often forced to practice certain skills by their parents. This action brings negative consequences to children's development. Persisting in just one particular field may lead children to have limited opportunities to learn other important skills such as interpersonal skills and cognitive development. In fact, some young people do not have enough time to interact with their friends due to their strict training schedule.

In addition, some sociologists suggest that these youngsters forced to take training by their parents, tend to lose their self-esteem and self-confidence in order that they have to make a effort to fulfil their parents' wishes. It is truly pathetic that some children suppress their actual wishes for their parents.Thus there are many negative affects which attribute to teaching children to become talented person.

Hence, parents should realize what is the most important thing for their children. If parents change their point of view and support children's wishes, they can develop their various abilities in many ways.