[IELTS] Cheap flights should not be discouraged

Topic: some people think cheap air travel brings us benefits while others believe that non-essential flights should be cut in order to reduce environmental problems caused by cheap air travel. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

My essay:

Travelling by air used to be luxurious which could not be afforded even by the middle class a few decades ago. However, nowadays more cheap flights are emerging since technology has evolved. But it also comes with a price: increasing flights have been posing a threat to the environment thus some people suggest that unnecessary flights should be restricted in order to protect the environment. My view is that people should be free to choose means of transportation whichever they like.

Cheap flights have made long distance trips more attractive. Tourists are always curious about the cultures or views that are different from their own, so they are more interested in travelling to a destination that is far away from them, usually abroad. Airplanes are ideal tools to reach these places as it takes less time and, sometime, are even less expensive. Spending less time on the way is not only attractive to people who have tight schedules but also is more comfortable, because people can easily get exhausted after staying in the vehicle for a long time without much possibility to move around and exercise.

On the other hand, cheap flights are causing more damages to the environment as people are more likely to travel further and more regularly. Aircrafts, comparing to traditional tools such as trains, are not very efficient in using energies, which results in a high carbon footprint. Moreover, it is impossible at all to adopt clean energies like sonar or electronic cars do at this moment.

In conclusion, in spite of the air pollution caused by cheap flights, I believe that low cost air travel should not be discouraged as it makes long trips more easily achieved.