Check for my essay about my holiday trip to Singapore

Hi, I need help for my paper. Please help me to check the grammar and anything wrong on my essay. Thank to spend your time to read it...^^

I have heard much about the beauty of Singapore, one of four remaining true city-states in the world and one of the most famous cities in Asia. It is the smallest nation in Southeast Asia that is made by many wonderful islands. Last summer, I and my friends decided to visit Singapore, the Lion Island.

Singapore, a small island, lies at the southern and of West Malaysia. A long and narrow piece of land joins Singapore with Johore Hahru, the southern-most town of West Malaysia. Singapore is now an independent state.

The city of Singapore is extremely beautiful. It is well known for its centers of business and other activities. There are many places of interest, such as, the Tiger Balm Garden, the Botanical Gardens and Raffles Museum. There are also many important centers of learning such as the University of Singapore, Science Centre, the Nanyang University and the Polytechnic. Being a famous city, hundreds of people come every day from various parts of the world to do business or to enjoy the sights of the city. Singapore therefore has large and beautiful airports and its harbors are full of ships.

There are many night schools where people who cannot go to the day schools for some reason or other can continue their studies. And, the government of Singapore is still doing its best to make further improvements in the city for the benefit of the people. During my stay in Singapore, I went out every day with my friends to see the beautiful and interesting places and things in the city. One day we went to the Tiger Balm Garden where I saw several statues of people, animals and other strange creature beautifully made and kept. The sea near this garden makes it a pleasant place to visit. We spent almost half of the day at this place.

Another day we visited the museum where I saw hundreds of curious things preserved for scholars and others. It was indeed an education to see all those things. There is so much to learn here that every visit by any person is sure to add to his knowledge. I also visited some of the harbors and saw the large ships anchored there. The sight of the ships aroused a desire in me to cross the oceans and go round the world. I was indeed deeply impressed by activities at the harbor. Then every night, I went round the town and visited some of the parks and other places of interest. The numerous lights and the constant stream of traffic kept the city alive. I visited a few of the cinemas as well. In short, I enjoyed every moment of my stay in this famous city of Singapore.

This trip gave us some experiences about Singapore, a neighborhood of my country. I took many pictures everywhere I came. It is helpful for young people like me, who want to travel around the world to study more about the cultural of different countries.