Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this?

the primary causes of obesity among kids

Childhood obesity tends to become a serious public health challenge in many countries. This essay will look at the primary causes of this trend and suggest some possible solutions to tackle this problem.

There are a number of reasons for the rising level of childhood obesity. The first reason is unhealthy eating habits. Children nowadays tend to consume too much fast food such as candy, snack and sugary drinks. It causes them to gain weight quickly as they are containing very high in fat and sugar but low in vitamins and minerals. Another reason is sedentary lifestyles. Children spend all of their own time watching TV, browsing the Internet or playing video games instead of going outside and doing sports. As a consequence, they are becoming increasingly obese.

There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the issues mentioned above. Firstly, parents need to control what their children eat and make sure that they have a healthy diet. Educating kids about the detrimental effects of an imbalanced diet is considerable. Unhealthy junk food should be banned from the school menu and fast food advertising need to be limitted. Secondly, parents should restrict the time their children using for sedentary activities and encourage them to take regular exercise, which would help them to control their weight by burning calories. Physical education would help them to avoid assembling fat.

To sum up, there are various factors leading to the rise in childhood obesity, and measures should be taken to solve this problem.