More and more children are accessing the internet unsupervised at a younger age.

unrestricted usage of internet and kids

More and more children are accessing the internet unsupervised at a younger age. This can sometimes put children at risk. What problems do you think parents face when dealing with their children using the internet? How can that problem be solved?

There is no denying that the advent of the internet has generated concerns about the tremendous implications that the unrestricted usage of it might bear for young children. There are several problems that derive from this act, and in order to contemplate on an effective solution, it is considered essential to present the challenges that parents might encounter.

First and foremost, the internet has been an indispensable tool for people's daily lives, and it is hard to convince a child not to use it. To be precise, parents set the pace for their children, but as long as the internet is a vital tool for the work and other adults' needs, it is inevitable for parents not to use it and exemplify for their sons. Simultaneously, once the child is introduced to the virtual world, significant effort is required to influence him as a parent. Another problem that parents have to deal with is the young's refusal to do homework because they are absorbed by the attractive world of the internet.

Taking into consideration all the aforementioned problems, it is evident that finding an effective solution is a rather uphill task for parents. Nevertheless, I consider that the most efficient ways to alleviate this issue are through constructive dialogues and dedication of quality time with the children. It has been proven that children's most significant need is their parents' attention. Additionally, parents can discuss the internet with young people and its destructive consequences in a simple and convincing way, so that the message will be transmitted.

To recapitulate, the unsupervised access to the internet can pose a threat to children's development. Only if the solutions mentioned were applied will parents encounter fewer challenges with this issue.