Children should achieve anything- IELTS writing task-2 essay

In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

To assure the kids that they are able to attain anything through hard work is an idea to spread in some cultures. As it has both merits and demerits, I will try to support both views with supporting ideas.

Starting with the benefits, the mentioned belief can be a reason for mental strength in childrens' minds. When they get an assurance of success after investing their best, they learn to deal with failures positively. For instance, A.P.J Abul Kalam was born in a poor family. He could not think of being a president for the surroundings he has. Believing that hard work does pay off, he could fulfill his dream. Instead, if a kid is always impulsed by telling that trying enough does not work, he might lose interest in life, and this can lead to depression.

However, strong belief, sometimes, tends to make some students desperate, ultimately leading to the regret of wasting their time in the wrong work. By way of illustration, if one has an inborn talent for music, it is not wise for him to try heart and soul for becoming the best businessman throughout his life, for his surroundings say so. Rather, he is able to be a way better musician with the same effort. Kids should be disadvantaged if they are not told to recognize their own areas of interest and talent before trying hard enough.

To conclude, telling "the hard work" as the only way to succeed can lead a child to invest his time in the wrong work. On the other hand, telling it should help the child to be stronger.