[IELTS] Children are better off to spend the time on other activities than reading story books.

meaningful activity for children

Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children's story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

Some believe that provided many activities are far more productive than reading children stories, youngsters should not be spending too much times on reading them. In this essay, I completely disagree with the statement. I will elaborate as follow.

Through reading story books, children have winder topics to discuss with their classmates. Since story books usually plot with various elements in composition either fictional or non-fictional, these elements include the background settings and characters. Children will have various topics to share in their class.

Furthermore, storybooks increase children's lexical understanding. Although many story tales come with pictures, words are crucial in knowing the story thoroughly. Therefore, children must spend a significant amount of times to look up on a dictionary whenever they encounter the unknown words. This finding process allows children to enhance their word understanding of the language. It guarantees that children are less likely to be intimidated by the higher level of language study later on.

Children stories also help children to be better in art classes. Many children books have a wider range of descriptive words to their surroundings, children can associate with the story by observation in their life. It broadens the creative thinking of children. So when they have to generate ideas in doing art, they can come up with fresh innovative thoughts.

To recapitulate, some advocate that children should not be spending their precious times on reading story tales provided that many other activities are available. However, storylines and within details are useful to children in socialising with their peers. These books can also improve children in language and art.