Nowadays children are consuming too many sugar based drinks. what are the reasons and solutions?

drinks unhealthy for kids

In the past few years, a drastic change has been observed in the eating and drinking habits of children. These days, there has been a rise in the consumption of sugar-based drinks amongst kids. People need to take strict actions to control this negative development as it adversely impacts the growth of the children.

The increase in the consumption of these aerated drinks is due to the significant rise in the advertisements. The companies are now targeting the younger generation to sell their products. They have strategically designed their campaigns by luring the kids through attractive and colourful packing and showcasing the superheroes and film stars promoting the consumption of these drinks. As a result, children are influenced to buy these sugar-based beverages which create a negative impact on their health in the long run. Moreover, these carbonated drinks are quite economical and readily available in the market. Hence, children find it easy and affordable to purchase it. For example, in India, a bottle of Coca-Cola is sold at Rs.10 which is cheaper as compared to fresh fruits juices.

However, the consumption of these sugary drinks can cause severe diseases in the long run. Henceforth, strict measures should be taken to restrict the intake of such drinks. Parents play a major role in reducing the consumption of these drinks. They should educate their children about the ill-effects and the critical diseases which it can cause. Furthermore, the government should impose heavy taxes and restrictions on selling the carbonated beverages. This will further reduce the production and intake of it.

To conclude, a collaborative approach of the government and parents are required to discourage the consumption of these sugar-based drinks and to have a healthy and secure future. Parents should inculcate healthy practices amongst their kids by encouraging them to have fresh fruits juices. The government should impose strict policies to restrict the selling of such unhealthy drinks.