Children are easily impressed by colors and sugar and this is dangerous.

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged 2 to 5) should not be allowed

The subject of television advertising toward young children (aged two to five) should be allowed but restricted to things that will improve children's well being. It is important to higher the standards of television advertising especially when the targets are toddlers. But, I think the real targets of this advertising are the parents and care takers because children so young are exposed to what the adults in charge of them expose them too.

First of all, children of such a small age shouldn't be watching television. They should be playing and developing their motor and cognitive skills interacting with other children in playgrounds, painting, drawing, expressing themselves, etc. Actually, there are studies that suggest that all this educational programs don't have an impact over very young children but they do in older children.

It is understandable that people nowadays need to seat their children in front of the television. It is very is expensive to have help in countries like the USA and parents have to prepare meals or do other things leaving the children relatively unattended. But, most of the programming for children is given by the public television that works with other type of funding than advertising from big corporations like McDonalds which promote unhealthy leaving for children and adults, therefore they are somewhat safe.

In conclusion, television advertising for young children (aged two to five) should be allowed but strictly regulated. Children are easily impressed by colors and sugar and this is dangerous. Children are the future, and it is the duty of the society to take care of them and do not expose them to things that can make them unhealthy in a physical and emotional way.