Children should not be engaged in paid work till they finish their basic schooling

Subject: In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regrad this as completely wrong while others consider it as a valuable experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. what is your opinion on this?

In many countries like USA, India kids are engaged in paid work. This has sparked much debate. Some people say that it adds a life time valuable experience to a child which makes them more responsible, while others contend that negative impacts are huge and totally disregard this idea.

When children work for pay during their summer holidays, it keeps them busy in a good way. This work experience teaches them real life experiences and how hard it is to earn the money. This will definitely teach them to respect their hard working parents and their hard earned money. Moreover, as it is said "Empty mind is Devils head" situation will be avoided as they will be engaged during their holidays. When children work in a shop, they will cultivate the habit of keeping things in right order and at right place. This will ensure when they are at home, they will keep their stuff neat and tidy.

On the contrary, if child starts earning at such a tender age, it might turn them into cold hearted and cynical human beings. They will evaluate everything in the perspective of profit and loss, and start associating money with every service, object. Probably once they start earning money, they might get diverted from their studies and may drop out from schools. This would pose a very big risk for a child and their parents. Another big risk, I see is child innocence would be lost as they would get exposed to realities of the world at such a juvenile age. Another biggest threat is it can result in child labour if not properly controlled.

To summarize, in my opinion children should not be engaged in any kind of paid work till they finish their basic schooling. The negative impacts far outweigh the advantages. I would not agree to take even one percent risk when it comes to children as they would form the foundation of the coming generation.