IELTS 2: Children must be given the same sentences as adults if they violate the law. True or not?

punishment for kids engaged in crime

Nowadays, with increasing of society, there is an appearance of crimes from different generations includes children and adults. Some ideas believe that children must be given the same sentences as adults if they violate the law. Regarding to me, I totally disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I will explain my points of view.

It is understandable why there is such an opinion. Firstly, it is a justice when everyone is given the same punishments if they break the same law. The law does not discriminate so that under the eyes of law, everybody at different ages is similar. Therefore, children must be punished at the same levels like finning them if they violate the traffic or some serious crimes, it is necessary to be received jail time like adults. However, with the high punishments, children may lose their future. As a matter of fact, when children suffer a long time in jail they will have no more chance to learn. Furthermore, if they have criminal records, it will be difficult for them to be believed from others. As a result, it is a disadvantage of childrens' lives.

Due to a reason above, it is accurate to reduce the limit of sentences towards children. Clearly, teenagers are not mature enough to control their minds. Some situations are hard for them to know right or wrong. At that age, their brains have not totally developed so that the lack of knowledge makes them break the law or do some serious problems. On the other hand, reducing level of punishments also awake them and fix their mistakes. Spending just few times in jail or at home may be a chance for them to think about their activities. Thus, this method is fair to everyone and benevolent for children.

In conclusion, children are also given sentences. However, limit of punishments should be reduced to give more opportunities for childrens' future.

Thanks for reading. I hope someone can help me on my essay. Thanks a lot.

Which band I can reach?