Should children be immunised against diseases? Could both parents decide about it?

Kids immunisation decision

Children's vaccination has proved its protective effect from various diseases. While proponents of vaccination vote for obligatory vaccination, I suppose that parents should be allowed to choose whether immunize their children or not.

It is well known that children are vulnerable to many different diseases because their weak immunity. Parents look after for their children and protect their health from all possible illnesses since childhood. Nowadays the number of vaccines for newborn is determined by governments in many counties. However, while immunization against some diseases such as tetanus or whooping cough is might be very effective, we still have a little knowledge about harmful effect of vaccinations. Sometimes unknown effect of vaccination can lead to unexpected consequences or even a child's death.

As parents are responsible for their children, they do not want to subject them to any harmful effect. When a mass immunization programmes are implemented in a country, this could cause a risk to the whole nation. As every child is individual, we can not to prevent the children's reaction to a specific vaccine. Moreover, the chemical content of vaccines is unknown and parent's education about its usefulness is low. Some parents also have religious beliefs which are not allowed them to immunize their children, thus their needs should be considered before introduction of obligatory immunization.

To sum up, I strongly believe that in spite of proved positive effect of artificial immunization, every person has a right to choose what would be better for his or her child. Before making a decision parents should weight all pros and cons of vaccines, and government should take into consideration parent's warnings and give them right to choose.