IELTS TASK 2 - CHILDREN LABOUR SHOULD BE CONSIDER AS VALUABLE WORK EXPERIENCE

In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong while others consider it as valuable work experience. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

At the present time, many adolescent have been become younger labourers in several countries. Some people believe that this case is totally wrong while the other side states precious job experience can be obtained. Whilst adolescent workers can disturb children focus, I would argue that basic life skills can be developed by them.

It is justified that children labour can cause the focus of child divided between study and work. This is due to the reason that their mind and physical can handle both of them at the same time which can make one of them slighted. A research conducted by Magdalena Rokicka show that the students who were employed part-time during the school term have a lower probability of continuing in post-compulsory education, even when controlling for final exam results. However, I believe it is not a problem since they can learn how to manage time from it.

Some people regard that paid work is acceptable for adolescent which provides many basic life skills that can be useful for their future. This is very essential as the life skills can help them to face the real problems and make better decision as they grow. A recent survey by Pew Research showed that students who have part-time works are better in managing their time rather than the ones that just study. This opportunity means that they have additional value than ordinary children to be used later.

To sum up, even though work can divert children's attention from education, it cannot be denied that the benefit like learning basic life abilities can have a big effect in few years later. It is recommended that parents should pay attention to their children's activities.