Some children can learn more efficiently by watching TV. Therefore, children should watch regular TV

Watching TV and learning effectiveness

Some children can learn more efficiently by watching TV. Therefore, children should watch TV regularly both in school and at home. Do you agree or disagree?

Some students find it more efficient to retain and understand concepts by watching TV. However, I do not believe this is enough to validate and encourage this habit among all children both at home and at school.

On the one hand, children are more captivated and engaged by the colourful pictures and sounds on the television. This is especially true for kids suffering from learning disabilities as they are more susceptible to learn shapes, sizes and alphabets presented in an animated manner rather than through textbooks. The characters and hosts on TV shows are very friendly and have the ability to make studying fun through the use of various props and light and sound effects.

On the hand, young students are also very easily distracted and influenced. For instance, if they are allowed to watch TV, they might keep changing channels and watch different shows instead of studying. Furthermore, it is not always possible to be supervised at home. This may lead to children watching some violent or adult shows which can have very severe impact on their mental health and personality if not depicted in the correct manner.

To give an example, a crime TV show in India which was supposed to warn teenagers on how to protect themselves against various petty crimes had a complete opposite effect. The police caught various juvenile children committing thefts and robberies who revealed they got the idea from that television show. Therefore, this proves how damaging TV can be due to the gullible nature of children.

In conclusion while there are definitely children who greatly benefit from watching TV, its use needs to be supervised and all children should definitely not be given regular access to TV both at school and at home.