IELTS: only some of children's leisure activities should be educational

IELTS:Writing Task 2

Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relrevant examples from your experience.

Some people say that children should always do educational activities in their free time.According to these people, children's non-educational activities are a complete waste of time.I agree with the idea that children should do educational activities when they are free , but I think that some not all of children's leisure activities should be educational.Also, I disagree with the view that other kinds of activities are a complete waste of time.In contrast, they are more important that educational ones.

It is generally accepted that children must do some educational activities in their spare time.Children could learn important lessons from doing educational activites, and these lessons would benefit them in their future.For example, some of the computer games are educational.Children could learn useful things from playing these types of games.For instance, some of the computer games teach children mathematics.It is understood that the educational activities are beneficial for children.However, I believe that not all leisure activities should be educational.

Although educational activities could benefit kids, they do not have to do only these kinds of activities.Only some of children's activities in their leisure time should be for educational purposes.I believe so because educational activities are not as useful as other types of activities.For example, doing sports is more important and useful than educational activities.The reason why playing sports is more important is that it helps people, especially children and teenagers keep fit and healthy.Doing sports make children feel happy and energetic too.Thus non-educational activities like sports are more important than educational ones, because they help children keep fit and make them feel delighted.

In conclusion, only some of children's leisure activities should be educational.Children have to do non-educational activities as well.Activities that are educational are not as important and useful as those that are not educational .