TOEFL: children should not only play or study without doing any housework

Hi all! I am new here and I find it a lovely website.

I am preparing for toefl and hope to receive as much advice as possible.

So please help with my essay. Make corrections for me and grade it out of 5 if you could.

I appreciate your help.

Should children only play and study without doing any housework?

When it comes to the problem of educating children, whether children should do housework or not has aroused heated discussion. As far as I'm concerned, requiring children to do housework is beyond doubt a benefit for both the children and the family for it teaches children to be responsible as a family member, equips children with necessary skills for independence and strengthens the family ties. Therefore, children should not only play or study without doing any housework.

Firstly, doing housework is the basic responsibility for a family member, and children is no exception. Children who do housework apart from playing and studying will develop a sense of duty since young, which is essential in forming their character. Most educators agree that training the young's personality should be put at the first place, even before inculcating them with knowledge. So doing housework should be an indispensable part in one's childhood as well as in one's self-perfection.

Secondly, doing housework teaches children the fundamental abilities, which come in handy when they seek independence from their family later in life. The trivial housework, such as washing the dishes, mopping the floor and making the bed, will be an inevitable task confronting them when they live independently. Children who do no housework are likely to struggle when they are finally away from their parents who prepare everything well for them. It is not rare to hear news reporting students lacking basic surviving skills fail in university, however excellent they are academically. There is no denying that the absence of housework in their early life results in that they cannot promptly adapt to their adult life with ease.

Thirdly, children who do housework understands how to share the family burden in the process, thus strengthening the family ties. Take myself as an example, I was a rebel girl in childhood, always causing troubles for my parents. I was told to mind only my study then until one day the teacher assigned a task to do one piece of housework for our families. So I went home volunteering to sweep the floor. Easy as it may seem, I ended up exhausted after finishing the task. Ever since then, I came to be aware of how much my parents are burdened with and gradually restrained my rebellion. It was because of that event that I began to understand the laborious work they do for the family and started to do all I could to alleviate the burden for them. As a result, the family relationship seemed closer.

In a word, children should do housework besides playing and studying. Because it is the basic duty of a family member, an indispensable process to independence and a key to maintain good family relationship.