An IELTS task 2 essay on children under pressure in modern society

Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social and commercial

perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

Burdened Children

Today many children find themselves stressed out because of pressure from by schools, companies, and society. While reasons for this vary, we can take some actions to help kids remove their emotional baggage.

A number of factors contribute to the pressure put on children in modern society. First of all, from the academic aspect, young students are forced by adults, such as teachers and parents, to study harder and get good grades. While this pressure is not intentionally harmful, it might create more anxiety for young students. Secondly, children can be abused by a huge crowd via social media. An innocent kid using Facebook can be attacked by Internet trolls and fall into depression, while the culprits remain at large. Regarding pressures caused by business, many children, who have no regular income, struggle to stifle their impulse to buy new and fancy things such as toys and clothing coming out every day. As a result, kids can feel disappointed if not satisfied, and in long term, this may lead to mental issues.

There are some endeavours could be done to reverse this alarming situation. Adults should encourage children to take part in entertainment activities such as sports or singing to divert them from academic pressures. In addition, a punishment system should be introduced to keep hate speech at bay and keep cyberspace a safe place for teenagers. Finally, the government may restrict commercials that target children as a way to help them cope with insatiable desires.

In conclusion, adults are responsible for the burdens put on kids today, and it is our job to make sure that every child has a carefree childhood.