IELTS - "children and rules of behavior in different countries"

Essay on "In some countries children have very strict rules of behavior, in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules?"

Children are like blossoming flowers and future of our world. A back and forth discussion is on, whether to be very strict on behaviour, or should a child be allowed to to do almost anything. As per my preception, children should be given freedom, but a considerable amount of rules and regulations should be applied for a desciplined future.

Whenever a child is strictly forced into a set of rules and regulations, it instead causes him to lose freedom, which indeed results in a lot of mental pressure. Most of the times, parents' put a lot of peer pressure, and hence enforces strict rules to perform better. This results in a mental collapse on their children. A survey conducted by a major newspaper shows increase in suicide related attempts are on a rise, among the child aged group.

On the other hand, excessive freedom is sometimes misused by children. They instead engage themselves in wrong deeds. They generate bad habits, and do not listen to their parents. This results at times to a criminal activity being performed by this child. Hence, freedom along with discipline will instead grow children better.

On a nutshell, freedom is something to be cherished, but misuse of freedom can cause concerns. Rules and regulations along with freedom is a key to childrens' growth and diversity.