IELTS task2 :Nowadays,children spend too much time watching TV and playing computer games...

Screen dependency problem

Topic: Nowadays, children spend too much time watching TV and playing computer games. Some people believe this has negative effects on children's mental abilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, it is much easier for children to get computer games and spend more time on TV than before. Besides, parents are busy finishing and handling their work. As a result, they do not have enough time to accompany their children. And parents will use TV and games to accompany their children. Thus, children waste a lot of time on this electronic entertainment. Is it a negative effect on children's mental abilities? To me, I agree with this point. I think watching TV and playing computer games are negative on children's mental abilities.

First of all, watching TV and playing computer games cause children to reduce thinking. TV programs and computer games provide numerous images and sounds. Children do not have the opportunity to imagine and create their thinking. They lose the opportunity to think and grow up. It will affect children's mental abilities. By contrast, activities like reading or drawing develop many areas of the brain and help children to think and imagine.

In the second place, children will decrease interaction with other people because of spending much time watching TV and playing computer games. When children spend a lot of time watching TV and playing computer games all day, they will not have time and the opportunity to play outdoors with other people. Physical activity also helps with brain development. Therefore, children should be discouraged from watching TV and playing computer games.

To conclude, our bodies and minds need to move and think. If we stop them moving, our bodies and minds will get worse. Therefore, we should help children's mental abilities through reading and drawing instead of spending too much time watching TV and playing computer games.