Task 2 - what children watch influences their behaviors or it is the amount of time they spend.

Some people say that what children watch influences their behaviour. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behaviour most.

Discuss both view and give your opinion

People have differing views about what affects children's behaviors most. While some people consider that it is the amount of time children spend watching television, I would argue that it is the content of the programs they watch.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why children's behaviors are impacted by the amount of time they spend sitting in front of the television. Firstly, if children watch too much TV, they will develop a habit of watching and eventually become addicted to TV for entertainment. This might lead to the scenario where children spend all the day with the TV, neglect outdoor activities and trap themselves in a sedentary lifestyle. Secondly, those who spend all the time watching TV may isolate themselves from the people around them. As a result, they will have less interaction and therefore, do not develop any social skills that are considered essential for their lives.

On the other hand, while viewing time may harm preschoolers to a certain extent, I still believe that the programs' content influences their actions most. The main reason is that children still have not developed the awareness enough to distinguish between the right and the wrong. If they are exposed to counter-educational programs, they will have some misconceptions and inappropriate behaviors, which will result in the tendency that children imitate what they are seen on the screen. For instance, violent scenes on TV shows show children a bad example of manners and affect their thoughts as well as their behaviors when they grow up.

In conclusion, although the amount of time preschoolers spend viewing TV programs may have some effect on children's actions, I believe what they watch influences them most.