Children at work: damaging and wrong?

In many developing countries, children work in some form to bring in necessary income from any early age. In the first world, many people think this damaging and wrong but others would argue that their work brings them a sense of contributing, belonging and responsibility. What is your opinion?

In today's economic environment, there have been a growing number of children engaging in some kind of paid work at early age because their families need some additional income. The discussion of what leads to the involvement of children in early job has been a highly debatable and controversial issue of whether it is right or it is off beam. There are many people on either side of the debate; some are of the opinion that says it is erroneous and harmful phenomenon, whilst others stand on different ground, they claim that it is advantageous and profitable work beside hands-on experience.

On the one hand, some people advocate that employing of children could be productive and gainful and those who hold this point of view argue that it has had been largely beneficial. Firstly, the youngsters experience could help them to become more confident and independent. Secondly, children get a taste of diverse workplaces, which might inspire a possible career interest.

On the other hand, there are those who disagree with this; they are not convinced and strongly oppose it; they tend to claim that there is also contrary evidence indicating early work is harmful for children and would ruin their life owing to a plethora reasons. At the outset, most of the places children are engaged in low paid labor work such as servants. The experience they obtain might not be useful for their future. Consequently, children may not develop. Secondly, which could be the worst is children may leave their education, which is more fruitful and gainful than manual work. Schooling provides a broad understanding and could open the door to better and greater job opportunities.

By and large, all these analyses and arguments combine to make a strong case, which leads to opinion that obligating and utilizing children in a job at early ages seemed to be entirely beneficial. However, further analysis reveals drawbacks to this way of thinking for the reason that it might be a curse and it could has detrimental effect as well. Thus, I tend to think that cons created by children work are far outweighing its pros and there are no useful skills involved