Choose an arguable topic related to learning challenges or learning strategies

Spaced Repetition

Having good strategies in college can indeed help you study more efficiently and have a good result. One of the most popular methods recommended is Spaced Repetition. I agree with the view that Spaced Repetition is an effective learning strategy. There are some points of my view on Spaced Repetition.

Some people believe that Spaced Repetition Strategy is not a good learning strategy and we should not use it. If we used Spaced Repetition, we would need extra effort and self-discipline. It does not apply to a person who wants to see their marked progress quickly because Spaced Repetition will give you a long schedule to study. Another disadvantage is that Spaced Repetition cannot be used for some subjects, which do not have to remember too much information.

While it is reasonable to say that Space Repetition is not beneficial to some people due to their learning styles, it is still an effective learning strategy for most people because of the framework it provides.

Firstly, it is worth considering Spaced Repetition's effectiveness on Long-term memory. Spaced Repetition is Space out learning/ practice of new knowledge/ skills to make knowledge more familiar, reduce forgetting knowledge, and put knowledge to Long-term memory. It will help to retain too much knowledge for a long time because Long-term memory has a limitless store, while Short-term memory is limited to certain information. Moreover, Long-term memory is considered a source of knowledge. The knowledge only can be useful when we can remember it and apply to a practical case.

Secondly, Spaced Repetition's time-blocks on scheduling learning activities which will be beneficial on storing information and on learning specifically. For example, Spaced Repetition computer software can advise us on an optimal gap to study and review knowledge. It can come up with a plan with optimal intervals base on the due day. When we create an exam study schedule, we can be proactive in learning and reviewing knowledge.

Lastly, Spaced Repetition's effectiveness in regular revisiting information before exams and on learning outcomes. The fact that most of us forgot anything we learned in high school. We just study and review before a day of a test. It makes us overwhelming before a large of knowledge. We can use Spaced Repetition to overcome the test easily. For example, we can quickly review our flashcards, questions, ... which we made in some Spaced Repetition software such as Anki, SuperMemo, etc. I disagree with some people who suppose that Spaced Repetition needs a lot of time to review. We just review what we forgot, what is not familiar. With the preparation for a long time, we will be more confident when we take exams.

In conclusion, Spaced Repetition may be the most powerful strategy for improving the brain's ability to remember and recall what we study. It can help us retain more information, study more efficiently, and spend less time reviewing our material.