Should we choose a job to earn more money or to have a contribution to the society?

Topic: For some people high salary is an important criterion when choosing a new job. Others are satisfied if the job contributes to the society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The invention of coins and paper money has influenced our lives in many ways, so that the profession we choose to do for our entire lives is somehow related to money. To be more specific, for many people the best job is the one with higher wage. However, in each society there are always individuals who place money into their second priority after making a meaningful contribution to their nations through what they do as their jobs. The question that must be asked is: what issues determine the priorities of each group? This essay is targeting to answer this question with the intent to come to a comprehensive conclusion over the matter.

Some people believe that job satisfaction is achieved when employees or blue-collar workers feel they are doing something useful in their countries. For example, when a researcher in the field of biomechanics sees how his attempts in producing a knee embrace could help many patients with knee injuries, it gives him a wonderful feeling which is not tradable with any amount of money. Such feeling will never be experienced with those who only seek money.

On the other hand, many facets of our lives are directly or indirectly dependent on the amount of money we can make. To have a better life on the basis of the today's worlds' luxurious criteria, earning more money is a must. How can an employee enjoy his job, while he is not able to afford his monthly rental price, education expenses, and his children's needs, to name a few? All of these financial burdens urge a person to put money on the priority. In other words, people are responsible for their families' wellbeing first, then the society.

In conclusion, there is always a hot debate over the factors a person needs to deem imperative for choosing his/her career. Some people believe salary is the deciding element, whereas others think the satisfactions stemmed from their contribution to the society is the one. I admit that I am among the first group. In my opinion, money brings us a more comfortable life and many stresses originated from financial difficulties are erased, placing us into better mental states. We, as parts of the society, consciously or unconsciously play a positive role in the society by doing a job, regardless of the fact that we are doing it for serving the country or just making money.