IELTS Task 2 Choosing interesting subjects or gaining knowledge that will be practical in the future

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is known that students must study many subjects in university. There is an argument about whether the university students are suggested to learn whatever they are interested in or research knowledge that will be practical in the future. In my opinion, I prefer the first idea, and my reasons run as follows.

Above all, interest is the best teacher. According to a research, the remembering rate of the students who study the things they like is obviously higher than those who study the typical materials, which indicates that interest can help students learn better. When the individuals learn the knowledge they are interested in, they will be willing to keep studying it and enjoy themselves instead of giving it at the beginning. Besides, it helps to develop thinking independence and respect their right to choose. When the students choose the subjects they want, it is due to their own choices instead of being forced by others, which is good for developing their thinking independence. The ability to think independently is very significant after they graduate since there will be no one to help them make the choices.

Nevertheless, the employment environment becomes severe due to the global slowdown caused by COVID-19 and it is not easy to get a job now. Studying practical subjects can make you useful in the future so that you have more advantages to be employed. So when choosing the major, the factor of usefulness also needs to be considered.

In conclusion, undergraduates are supposed to study the subjects they favour with the consideration of their usefulness.