Choosing to live in a horizontal or vertical city has been a headache dilemma to city dwellers

Live in a horizontal or vertical city?

Please help me by checking thí essay. Thank you.

TOPIC:Some people think that it is best to live in a vertical city (mean that people work and live in high buildings) while others think a horizontal city is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion

ESSAY:

Choosing to live in a horizontal or vertical city has been a headache dilemma to city dwellers. While some people are in favor of settling in those cities which develop with high-rise buildings, I support that large cities planned to develop towards the suburb would bring more benefits.

On the one hand, in the urbanisation age less and less area available, horizontal cities have gained a wide popularity and attracted a lot of migrant workers with a variety of reasons. The initial reason is that in horizontal cities, residents usually live in multi-storey buildings which offer a lot of conveniences such as quickly having access to commercial centres, coffee shops or various services right in those low stores in the building. Another reason is that as almost all people living in skyscraper buildings, a large area would be saved for other public purposes. For example, to meet the huge demand of transport, local authorities would allocate resource to construct modern road systems with large lanes, which, therefore, facilitate the flow of traffic and avoid traffic congestion.

On the other hand, there are several advantages of living in cities developed vertically. Firstly, it is clear that in vertical cities, residents are less likely to suffer from the hustle and bustle of overcrowded places and have their private spaces in their houses. For instance, in a house accompanied by a garden, a greener lifestyle would be promoted as they plant trees and vegetables for themselves. Secondly, unlike flats or apartments, living in small houses does not require any services charges such as parking fees or fees to reconstruct the building.

In conclusion, living in a horizontal or vertical city would have its own merits and choosing where to live certainly depends on people's conditions.