Choosing an university which is far from home or in your country? (write a compare & contrast essay)

This decision will influence your future

To study in your own country versus studying abroad is always the most difficult decision to make. Studying abroad is always a highlight in any curriculum vitae, but leaving home for a long period of time is not everyone's cup of tea. Furthermore, Studying in a foreign country can bring about many benefits and also studying in your home country can have some advantages, too. Both options have their pros and cons, but in the end you know what the right thing is for you.

Studying abroad is the one way to shape your life for a better future. Studying abroad can give not only mastering language, but also the study of culture of another country. We can learn about foreign culture and customs. Studying abroad may adversely affect our own culture and native language. People who study long or live in another country sometimes get homesick, and communicating with friends and family at home can be very difficult. Moreover, studying abroad is not so easy, you have to keep in mind the costs of studying abroad. Sometimes tuition fees are quite high, and the cost of living may be different from what you are used to at home.

Studying in your own country and familiarity with your environment allows you to focus on school instead of dealing with culture shock or language barriers. You don't necessarily need to go abroad to improve your language skills and interact with internationals. On the other hand, Studying in your own country is often a smart financial decision. You're more likely to leave college with less debt than a student who borrowed heavily to study. And in addition, you can work at a job in your own country to help pay for college and gain valuable work experience that will look good on your résumé.

In a nutshell, taking account of all above factors, we can infer that both options have their cons and pro and the decision to study in your own country versus studying abroad depends on your values, finances, career goals and personal preferences.