Citadelle Laferrière - a trip or vacation to a place that influenced you some way

the beautiful place

In Haiti, I remembered when I was 12 years old, my parents surprised me to a beautiful place on earth for my birthday. This beautiful place named Citadelle Laferrière. It was amazing for any children to have such a surprise for their special day in my country. The Citadelle Laferrière is located in the north of Haiti, especially in Cap Haitian, and was built by the blood of hard workers. Why Citadelle Laferrière is one of the best places to visit for its visitors, as it is an ancient and historic building in the world, and its architecture has been made by bare hands.

First, from Port-au-Prince to Cap Haitian, the Citadelle Laferrière location will take you five hours to drive, but if you choose a commercial aircraft, it will take 30 minutes. Citadelle Laferrière is a historical monument and fortress on the top of a mountain located on the north coast of Haiti, atop Mount Bonnet in L'Eveque. It is also known as Citadelle or Citadelle Henri Christophe in honor of its creator. For example, it is designated by the local population as the Eighth Wonder of the World and, in 1982, as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Besides, the place is very attractive from the inside to the outside. It presents an angular structure which its appearance takes different forms according to the position of the spectator. And, some angles are protective and designed to deflect enemy cannonballs. This fortress at the top of a mountain includes fortification walls, large water, and food reserves, royal mansions, dungeons, swimming pools, etc. Most parts of the fortress do not have a roof. Inside the monument, there is a long corridor that we could not reach because of darkness and forbidden for visitors. So, I was thinking of how people could build something as big as this monument.

Secondly, the fortress was built to allow the king to use the so-called scorched earth tactic, that is to say, that in case of French attack, the surrounding territory would be set on fire and the local population, the army, and the king would find refuge in the incredible Citadel. . in addition, this massive stone construction was equipped with 365 guns of different sizes and a huge stock of cannonballs that can still be found in different parts of the Citadel, even today. The cannons were obtained from different monarchs. Today, iron and bronze cannons still point through the windows of the Citadel and visitors to the Citadel can still see the royal shields of the famous European monarchs of the 18th century. For example, the fortress has many shops and water tanks, designed to store enough food and water to feed 5,000 people for a whole year. No wonder the construction of the fortress lasted 15 years, from 1805 to 1820, and required 20,000 workers. In my mind, these places are supposed to understand our past and most of the time, the Haitian people remind them of where they came from and where they worked hard

In conclusion, Citadelle Laferrière is the best place I've known in my life so far because it's a combination of hard work and sweat our nations without any foreigner help. At that time, there was no mechanical machine to make certain tasks easy for the workers. All Haitians around the world need to visit these historical monuments that belong to their past. We will not find them now and in any other country to show you how important it is to become the next visitor to this magical building. I will support anyone who intends to come with their family and friends to explore our mystery site.