Why are Cities Becoming Overcrowded? - IELTS topic.

Please, Give Your Mark As IELTS score!

In the whole world many cities, especially big ones, are getting more and more overpopulated year by year. As the number of people who are interested in opportunities and comforts in cities is increasing rapidly, these cities are facing a lot of problems. I completely believe that people have reasonable reasons to come and stay in urban areas.

One of the main reasons is economic ones as cities are engines of development. In fact, most of the people from rural places come to live in big cities in order to get a job hoping to create their personnel career. Since a number of work facilities have been building, such as high-tech, clothes and food factories, cities can attract people`s attentions while they are dying for jobs. In addition, there are better conditions and conveniences in the way of cities` life for living, working and etc.

Another factor is that people have an intense desire to reach modern socio-cultural lifestyle in these days. It is obviously true that prestigious universities which can give high-quality education can be found only in cities not in rural places. Therefore, less than half of people who move to urban areas from countryside are, in actual fact, students. However, after students graduate their university they decide to stay there to make a living as well. Moreover, nowadays everyone can grasp the concepts of urbanization and everybody seem huge centripetal force.

In conclusion, even though this problem has a number of causes which can be basis of another problem as people live and their demands change, authorities and individuals can overcome this obstacle if they help each other.