Cities are the Ideal place to study Societies

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I agree with the statement that Major Cities present the true characteristics of a society

In today's era when most job opportunities have shifted to the Urban areas immigration from rural areas to the major cities is inevitable. This has resulted in the mixing of people from diverse cultural, religious and socio-economic backgrounds. This form of cosmopolitan society can only be seen in major cities. The difference be ethnic, religious or social is more evident in such close quarters.

Also today's major cities are actually old cities expanding over the years to accommodate the ever increasing population. Thus in these cities we can see both historical ruins and towering skyscrapers. This amalgamation of old and new is a unique quality of cities. Like the buildings even the society is a mix of old inhabitants and new immigrants. The ever changing populace presents an interesting study of societal behaviour.

Cities are the hub of all economic activities. The cycle of economic boom and bust can be witnessed in the cities clearly. Unemployment or affluence the cities are the first to react to any economic event. Also political movements have generally taken root from metros of the world and then spread to the suburbs.

In all spheres which affect societies the city has a major role and we can see that the specific features of a populace can be witnessed by observing it.

Please provide suggestions to improve this essay further. This is one of the essay topics from the GRE issue topic pool.

brandymhunter 2 / 15 2

May 1, 2014   #3

Introduction: I think you could write a little more for the introduction. Instead of one sentence that copies the original statement: "I agree with the statement that Major Cities present the true characteristics of a society" I think you could instead just write what you opinion is. Don't say "I agree with" but instead find a way to write this agreement in your own words. Maybe use a different word to define "major cities" and the definition for what "characteristics of a society" means.

One idea is to tell a news story or a plot from a movie or book that supports the idea you agree with.

Also, in your introduction, make sure you tell the reader the two points of agreement you are about to explain in the following paragraphs.

May 1, 2014   #4

In addition, in the body of your essay, make sure to provide a clear marker that tells the reader a new paragraph is beginning. One way to do this is to provide a space in between paragraphs (by hitting enter twice). Another way to warn the reader of a new idea paragraph is to indent (several spaces) before each paragraph.

Then, make sure at the beginning of each of your supporting paragraphs, you could start the paragraph with one of the following:

First,

One of,

Secondly,

Another reason for,

For the conclusion, say something like:

As I have explained,

To sum up,

In closing,

I hope you have gained an understanding of why I feel the way I do...

samkmas 3 / 5

May 1, 2014   #5

The vocabulary of this essay is good, but it lack some connections between sentences. You can elaborate more about each sentence such as providing more examples.

dumi 1 / 6,925 1592

May 2, 2014   #6

Pay attention to what Pahan suggested above regarding the intro.

OP as14 2 / 3 1

May 2, 2014   #7

What i have gathered from the comments provided is:-

1. Introduction needs to be informative a sort of summary of what is to come and should start with a catchy phrase

2. The body must contain supporting facts or anecdotes

3. The start of a new argument( a new para) should be clearly visible

Than you everyone for your inputs will surely try and apply them in the next essay i post.

May 9, 2014   #8

Yes, you've got it. Also, stick to a particular essay structure ( the one we suggested above is very good in terms of earning a good score plus managing time effectively) so that you would not waste time on a particular section at the exam. The most important aspect is to complete the task on time with all essential features to earn a decent score.